I drove all night (#OriginalMyAss #6)

I didn’t forget about the people who are anxiously waiting for me to continue my series on hits that’s actually covers of pre-released songs.

This time it’s the turn of CYNDI LAUPER with her rendition of I DROVE ALL NIGHT, which some might call her signature song.  O-kay, “some” being me.  She also got a Grammy nomination for her version of the song.  It remains one of my favourites of the eighties and I reckon it’s better than the original, as recorded by Roy Orbison two years prior in 1987.

After it was made famous by Miss Lauper, they released his “original” version in 1992. His version became a hit overseas and also gave him a Grammy.

So technically this isn’t a cover.  Or is it?  Enjoy my peeps.  You can watch Jason Priestly and Jennifer Connelly make out to the original here.

7 thoughts on “I drove all night (#OriginalMyAss #6)

Leave a Reply

