The Sound of Silence

Do I like heavy metal?  Hell no! The screeching of guitars and screams mascarading as singing has never poked my interest.  I like to hear the lyrics and just like canines I cannot handle high pitch screeching noises.  BUT every so often some of these bands are able to create haunting pieces of music. Songs that gives me goosebumps, in a good way off course.

As is the case with DISTURBED and their rendition of the old Simon and Garfunkel classic THE SOUND OF SILENCE.  In this clip you can also see how a video can lift a song to an artform.  You will not find one guest celebrity or any woman shaking her booty in the face of a rapper sitting in a chair.  A rare find these days.

And here I am not even being the greatest fan of covers BUT…

Were you able to look away at any moment during the song? I couldn’t but I’m weak.  Just a sucker for a good song.  I was absolutely transfixed.

Do yourselves a favour and check out their video for The Light as well, truly inspirational stuff.

Maybe they’re not a heavy metal band as per Wikipedia.  They’re a little more rock  which is why I got the album.

One thought on “The Sound of Silence

Leave a Reply

