I loved her first

This week will go down in memory as the week when Princess started her academic career in High school.  Nothing else matters.

She’s all grown up now and I’m stuck having to cope with this new reality the best way I know how, blogged about it here.  Arriving at work, after dropping the kids at school, I shared my fragile emotions with a colleague.  She told me it only gets worse and her husband was left in a sobbing mess at the wedding of their daughter a few years before.

Mainly because the sadistic bride picked the song “I loved her first” as the opening song for their father-daughter dance.  Who does that?  If Princess tries to pull something like this MANY, MANY years from now, on her own wedding day, she must know that I probably won’t be able to move from my chair, never mind lead her in a dance.

One must thanks Heartland for capturing the exact feelings all fathers have when they reach the point of having to give their daughter’s hand to some prick who stole her heart…

Nice crying Dads…

One thought on “I loved her first

  1. Cheryl January 16, 2016 / 4:39 am

    This one is right up there with “Butterfly Kisses”. But, as they say, “A son is a son ’til he takes a wife. A daughter’s a daughter for the rest of her life”. I remember my daughter’s first day of high school… and then the next thing I knew, she was off to university. Man, they grow up so fast!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

