Castle of Glass

Sometimes a song speaks to me in a language I don’t understand myself.  It’s like the melodies and lyrics combine to skip my cognitive understanding of the English language and aim directly for the soul.

This specific song spoke to me on the way to work with the haunting vocals and intricate arrangement.  I had to Google the lyrics to understand why.  Funny enough, I still don’t understand why.  There are some deep metaphors in play here.

Maybe it’s about wanting to be healed, a cry for help.  Maybe it’s about humanity’s insignificant part in a greater universe. Maybe it’s just about wanting to go for a swim to wash of some dirt and then fly and get warm again.  Maybe it’s about regret.  Maybe it’s about the atrocities of war and how we should strive for peace in everything we do.

Maybe Mark Shinoda was high when he wrote it.

Whatever the meaning of the song, I hope that Castle of Glass by Linkin Park will speak to your soul as well.  Just be warned if the song doesn’t, the video sure as hell will.

PS – I included the lyrics for interest sake…

“Castle Of Glass”

Take me down to the river bend
Take me down to the fighting end
Wash the poison from off my skin
Show me how to be whole againFly me up on a silver wing
Past the black where the sirens sing
Warm me up in a nova’s glow
And drop me down to the dream below

‘Cause I’m only a crack in this castle of glass
Hardly anything there for you to see
For you to see

Bring me home in a blinding dream,
Through the secrets that I have seen
Wash the sorrow from off my skin
And show me how to be whole again

‘Cause I’m only a crack in this castle of glass
Hardly anything there for you to see
For you to see

‘Cause I’m only a crack in this castle of glass
Hardly anything else I need to be

‘Cause I’m only a crack in this castle of glass
Hardly anything there for you to see
For you to see
For you to see

Leave a Reply

